Monday - Friday
8:00 am to 4:30 pm
500 E. San Antonio
El Paso, Texas 79901
Phone (915) 834-8200
Fax (915) 834-8299
Management Action Plan
Domestic Relations Office
- Many people seek a divorce without hiring an attorney, but the Family Law Information Center ("FLIC") strongly
suggests that at some time during the divorce process
you consult with an attorney even if you cannot afford
to hire one to completely handle your divorce for you
- This flyer is intended to give basic information about
the "nuts and bolts" of obtaining a divorce on your own.
If you are the person filing, you are known as the
"Petitioner." If you are the person who receives it, you
are known as the "Respondent."
- I. Where to go?
- To file an original petition for divorce you go to the District Clerk's office (first floor of the El Paso
County Courthouse, room 103), unless you hire a private
- If you need to schedule a hearing you go to the
individual court to which your case is assigned. Your
case will be assigned to a Family Law District Court by
the District Clerk's Office when you file your divorce
petition. Different District Courts have different
procedures for scheduling hearings.
- For an uncontested final divorce hearing you may need to
go to the Associate Judge for the District Court to
which your case is assigned. Again, different District
Courts have different procedures for scheduling
uncontested hearings, so you need to check with each
- Leave your Child Support Notification Form in the
court's DRO box or with the court's bailiff. Then file
your final divorce decree and any accompanying documents
that have been signed by the judge with the District
Clerk's Office. If wages are going to be garnished for
child support or alimony, you must go to the DRO to have
your Withholding Order issued to the Obligor's employer.
- II. Filing Fees & Court Costs
- Please refer to these links for the most current list of fees from the District Clerk’s:
- And the Domestic Relations Office:
- III. Timeliness
- In order to file for a divorce in El Paso County the petitioner or respondent must have lived in the state of Texas for 6 months and in El Paso for 90 days prior to filing.
- There is a mandatory 60-day waiting period from date the divorce is filed until the divorce can be finalized.
From the day a person is formally served with divorce
papers, he or she has until the first Monday occurring
more than 20 days after the day of service to file an
answer. In other words, to find the date an answer is
due, you count 20 days beginning with the day after
being served, then go to the next Monday. The answer is
due by that Monday.
- IV. Where can I go to obtain family law
- Family law forms are available in the El Paso County Law Library in a set of books called the State Bar of Texas
Family Law Practice Manual. The forms in the practice
manual are put out by the State Bar of Texas, and are
very good if you know how to use them. There are also
various companies that offer to help you represent
yourself by preparing your forms for you; some of these
forms are not very good. Some of these companies give
you incorrect information about how to calculate child
support, or how to divide debt. As stated above, it is
best to consult with an attorney familiar with the
Family Law of Texas.
- V. What forms do I need for a divorce?
- See FLIC flyer What Forms Do I Need For a Divorce? for a list of commonly used
- VI. Need for an attorney.
- Family law is extremely complicated and it is always
best to seek the help of an experienced attorney. For
example, the division of property in a divorce decree is generally final and cannot be changed. For this and many
other reasons we strongly recommend that the person
going through a divorce consult with an attorney at some
point during the process.
- Both the El Paso Bar Association and the Family Law
Information Center maintain a roster of attorneys who
handle family law cases. For help in finding a lawyer
you may contact:
- A) Family Law Information Center (915) 834-8203 or (915)
834-8200 extension 4039.
- B) El Paso Bar Association, Nancy Gallegos, (915) 532- 7052.
- C)The State Bar of Texas maintains a website www.
texasbar.com or at their toll free number (877) 983-